Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

2009-2019 Whitman County Commissioner Minutes are available at:

Washington State Archives-Whitman County

Regular Meeting - The Whitman County Commissioners meet every Monday beginning at 9:00 a.m. (unless otherwise noted) in the Whitman County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers,  (400 N Main. Colfax, WA).

Remote participation is available for attending the Commissioners’ meetings at:

Meeting ID: 250 921 172

One tap mobile

+12532158782,,250921172# US (Tacoma)

+13462487799,,250921172# US (Houston)


Dial by your location +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma),  +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston),  +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose),  +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago),  +1 929 205 6099 US (New York),

  +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

Meeting ID: 250 921 172

Find your local number:

Whitman County Commissioners

Art Swannack 
District 1

Art Swannack

Tom Handy
District 2
Tom HandyContact & Biography

Michael Largent
District 3
Michael LargentContact & Biography

County Commissioner Redistricting

District Boundaries Map & County Code Description (PDF)

District boundaries were established pursuant to the requirements of 2020 redistricting. These Boundaries were adopted on December 20th, 2021 and became active January 1st, 2022.

Communities and populations in Washington change over time. Every 10 years, after the federal government publishes updated census information, Washington redraws the boundaries of its congressional and state legislative electoral districts to ensure that each district represents an equal number of residents. For more information visit


Commissioners serve as the chief administrators for many important county operations and have some quasi-judicial responsibilities. The County Commissioners’ primary duties are to levy taxes to operate the county and adopt a balanced budget for each calendar year. The Commissioners are responsible for adopting, amending and repealing all county ordinances including zoning, traffic, planning and public safety ordinances and any other ordinance concerning the general welfare of the county. 

The Commissioners are responsible for the appointment of citizen advisory committees and boards, and appoint non-elected department heads.

Departmental Responsibilities

  • Emergency Services/Civil Defense Programs
  • Park and Recreation Systems
  • Planning and Zoning in Unincorporated Areas
  • Public Health Services
  • Public Roads and Public Works Programs
  • Other services and programs clearly not the responsibility of another Elected County Official